The Newport, Wormit & Forgan Archive

Chapman County Codes

The standardised Chapman County Codes - used in the County of Birth column

Aberdeenshire ABD Bedfordshire BDF Co. Antrim ANT
Angus (Forfarshire) ANS Berkshire BRK Co. Armagh ARM
Argyll ARL Buckinghamshire BKM Co. Carlow CAR
Ayrshire AYR Cambridgeshire CAM Co. Cavan CAV
Banffshire BAN Cheshire CHS Co. Clare CLA
Berwickshire BEW Cornwall CON Co. Cork COR
Bute BUT Cumberland CUL Co. Donegal DON
Caithness CAI Derbyshire DBY Co. Down DOW
Clackmannanshire CLK Devon DEV Co. Dublin DUB
Dumfriesshire DFS Dorset DOR Co. Fermanagh FER
Dunbartonshire DNB Co. Durham DUR Co. Galway GAL
East Lothian (Haddingtonshire) ELN Essex ESS Co. Kerry KER
Edinburghshire (Midlothian) MLN Gloucestershire GLS Co. Kildare KID
Elginshire (Moray) MOR Hampshire HAM Co. Kilkenny KIK
Fife FIF Herefordshire HEF Kings Co. (Offaly) OFF
Forfarshire (Angus) ANS Hertfordshire HRT Co. Leitrim LET
Haddingtonshire (East Lothian) ELN Huntingdonshire HUN Co. Leix (Queens) LEX
Inverness-shire INV Isle of Wight IOW Co. Limerick LIM
Kincardineshire KCD Kent KEN Co. Londonderry LDY
Kinross-shire KRS Lancashire LAN Co. Longford LOG
Kirkcudbrightshire KKD Leicestershire LEI Co. Louth LOU
Lanarkshire LKS Lincolnshire LIN Co. Mayo MAY
Linlithgowshire (West Lothian) WLN London LND Co. Meath MEA
Midlothian (Edinburghshire) MLN Middlesex MDX Co. Monaghan MOG
Moray (Elginshire) MOR Norfolk NFK Co. Offaly (Kings) OFF
Nairnshire NAI Northamptonshire NTH Queens Co. (Leix) LEX
Orkney OKI Northumberland NBL Co. Roscommon ROS
Peeblesshire PEE Nottinghamshire NTT Co. Sligo SLI
Perthshire PER Oxfordshire OXF Co. Tipperary TIP
Renfrewshire RFW Rutland RUT Co. Tyrone TYR
Ross & Cromarty ROC Shropshire SAL Co. Waterford WAT
Roxburghshire ROX Somerset SOM Co. Westmeath WEM
Selkirkshire SEL Staffordshire STS Co. Wexford WEX
Shetland SHI Suffolk SFK Co. Wicklow WIC
Stirlingshire STI Surrey SRY
Sutherland SUT Sussex SSX WALES WLS
West Lothian (Linlithgowshire) WLN Warwickshire WAR Anglesey AGY
Wigtownshire WIG Westmorland WES Breconshire BRE
Wiltshire WIL Caernarvonshire CAE
ISLE OF MAN IOM Worcestershire WOR Cardiganshire CGN
Yorkshire YKS Carmarthenshire CMN
CHANNEL ISLANDS CHI Yorkshire, East Riding ERY Denbighshire DEN
Guernsey GSY Yorkshire, North Riding NRY Flintshire FLN
Jersey JSY Yorkshire, West Riding WRY Glamorgan GLA
Merioneth MER
Monmouthshire MON
Montgomeryshire MGY
Pembrokeshire PEM
Radnorshire RAD


Return to:     Overall census       1841       1851       1861       1871       1881       1891       1901